Good news


The following Hinsdale students earned a spot on the dean’s list or equivalent at their respective colleges and universities for the fall 2023 semester.

• Patrick Boyle, College of the Holy Cross

• Quinn Cain, Tufts University

• Kate Hughes, University of Georgia*

• Sarah Lotsoff, Tufts University

• Sofia Masood, Elmhurst College

• Olivia Ostrowski, College of William & Mary

• Karina Patel, University of Minnesota Rochester

• James Regas, Elmhurst College

• Lia Reichmann, Drake University

• Kathleen Ryndak, Elmhurst College

• Jonathan Webster, York College

* presidential scholar


Ryan Maita, the assistant principal for operations at Hinsdale Central, has been named the Assistant Principal of the Year for the DuPage Region by the Illinois Principals Association.

This award recognizes and celebrates individuals who demonstrate a positive impact on education and advocacy for children, ensure the school climate is positive and reflects high staff and student morale, are willing to take risks to improve student learning, work collaboratively with teachers and other staff to improve student achievement, involve the community in the life of the school and other traits.

Maita and the other regional winners from across Illinois are now eligible for IPA’s State Assistant Principal of the Year award, which will be announced in late winter/early spring.

Physicians Named 2024 Top Doctors

Forty-two physicians affiliated with UChicago Medicine AdventHealth have been honored as Top Doctors for 2024 by Chicago Magazine. The recognition, part of the “Chicago’s Top Doctors” list, celebrates healthcare professionals across diverse specialties committed to delivering high-quality healthcare.

Compiled by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., a renowned health-care research and information company, the list is the result of a study in which all licensed physicians nationwide were invited to nominate their peers for recognition as top doctors, either regionally or nationally. Castle Connolly’s physician-led team of researchers employs a meticulous process to select top doctors, rigorously evaluating nominees’ educational and professional backgrounds.

Physicians on staff at UChicago Medicine AdventHealth Hinsdale are listed below.

Allergy and immunology, pediatrics — Dr. Renee Lantner

Anesthesiology, pain medicine — Dr. Simon Adanin, Dr. Nitin Malhotra

Cardiothoracic vascular surgery — Dr. Paul Gordon, Dr. Valluvan Jeevanandam

Clinical cardiac electrophysiology: Dr. Martin Burke, Dr. Mohammed Khan

Family medicine — Dr. Guy Agostino, Dr. William Gros, Dr. Margaret Hannon, Dr. George Tomecki

Female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery, OB/GYN — Dr. Sandra Valaitis

Gastroenterology — Dr. Joseph Bresnahan

Internal Medicine — Dr. Jennifer Virant

Interventional Cardiology — Dr. Noel Camba

Nephrology — Dr. Leonard Potempa

Neurology, vascular neurology — Dr. Michael Rezak, Dr. Benjamin Ticho

Orthopedic surgery — Dr. Thomas Ehmke, Dr. Erling Ho, Dr. Ashish Patel

Orthopedic surgery, hand surgery — Dr. Leah Urbanosky

Otolaryngology, otology & neurotology: Dr. Alan Micco

Otolaryngology, sleep medicine — Dr. Regina Walker

Pediatrics — Dr. Marc Freed

Psychiatry, child & adolescent psychiatry — Dr. Ahmed Hussain

Pulmonary disease, critical care medicine — Dr. Kevin Kovitz

Radiation oncology — Dr. Arica Hirsch, Dr. Rajiv Patel, Dr. Ramji Rajendran, Dr. James Ruffer

Rheumatology — Dr. Judith Frank, Dr. Lynn Meisles

Surgery — Dr. Eric Yang