Good news


Three students from Hinsdale are among 2,500 high school seniors to receive a $2,500 National Merit Scholarships.

They are

• Alexander Burt, a senior at Hinsdale Central High School

• Lily Song, a senior at Illinois Math and Science Academy in Aurora

• Mallory Turner, a senior at Fenwick High School in Oak Park

National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

These scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools.


Several Hinsdale Central students won awards in their STAR — Students Taking Action with Recognition— or proficiency events at the Family, Career and Community Leaders of America’s recent state competition.

• Zuzanna Sokolowski, Gold and Most Outstanding in the Fashion Construction STAR event

• Keira Leech, Silver and Most Outstanding in the Nutrition and Wellness STAR event

• Toral Bhatt, Gold in the Apparel Construction (casual wear category) state proficiency event

• Chloe Chang, Silver in the Preschool Lesson state proficiency event


The JETS — Junior Engineering and Technical Society — team from Hinsdale Central took fourth place at the state tournament. The following students earned a total of 15 medals for finishing in the top five in their individual events.

• Katelyn Stern, first place, engineering graphics

• Charles Gilman, second place, engineering graphics

• Kevin Zhang, second place, English

• Sebastian Attlan, third place, physics

• Alex Jiang, third place, biology and physics

• Brynn Bauer, fourth place, engineering graphics

• Jiming Chen, fourth place, English

• Monet Gruft, fourth place, engineering graphics

• Alex Yang, fourth place, physics; fifth place, mathematics

• Adam DiPasquale, fifth place, biology

• Rebecca Guan, fifth place, English

• Nate Maydanchik, fifth place, mathematics

• Arjun Saini, fifth place, computer science