Good news


Last updated 10/5/2022 at 3:35pm | View PDF


Members of the Chicago Project Rise team donated several boxes of laundry soap, dish detergent and personal care items to HCS Family Services Sept. 15. This is the third donation Project Rise has made to HCS this year, following diaper drives in May and June.

Project Rise is a Global Dawoodi Bohra initiative whose sole mission is to help the less fortunate.

“Project Rise is an important member of the HCS family,” Executive Director Wendy Michalski said. “Their continuing support is a shining example of how partnerships impact those who are in need and in turn change the community.

“We are currently serving between 325 and 350 families per week by providing them with groceries and personal and cleaning products like those donated by Project Rise. Project Rise makes all the difference in our ability to continue to work to

fulfill our mission.”

A photo appears online at


Cody Sweeney and John Wheeler, both of Hinsdale, were among 35 students who earned Advanced Placement Scholar Awards at Nazareth Academy. The two, who graduated in the spring, were named AP Scholars for completing three or more AP exams with scores of 3 or higher.


Annika Geiersbach, a student at St. Ignatius College Prep, has been named a semifinalist in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program.

More than 16,000 high school seniors have been earned the honor in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship program.

Geiersbach is eligible to continue in the competition for some 7,250 National Merit Scholarships worth almost $28 million that will be offered next spring.


Jared Callaway was named to the dean’s list at Columbia College for the 2022 spring semester.


Hinsdale Central English teacher Jared Friebel was selected for the Chicago Area Writing Project’s Civic Engagement Fellowship for 2022-23. The National Writing Project is multidisciplinary and works to study the teaching of writing in ways that empower educators and students.


Several Hinsdale Central students have earned the AP Capstone Diploma Award.

They are Arnima Agrawal, Alexander Burt, Sohan Joshi, Andrew Kassab, Fatima Khan, Rhea Kumar, Rohan Kumar, Colin Kurimay, Hannah Li, Michaela Morrell, Vandana Patel, Saanvi Sethi, Prachi Shah, Anika Singh, Armaan Sinha, Saniya Wasti and Xinran Xu.

The College Board grants this award to students who earn a score of three or higher on the AP Seminar and AP Research exams, as well as on four additional AP exams of the student’s choosing.


The Illinois Chamber of Commerce recently awarded State Representative Deanne Mazzochi (R-47, Elmhurst) with a Champion of Free Enterprise award in Chicago.

The award is given to key legislators who have made special contributions to the defense and furtherance of free enterprise in our state, according to Keith Staats, the Illinois Chamber’s executive director of tax institute.

Mazzochi, herself a small business owner, emphasized that small businesses are essential employers.

“They are more willing to take a chance on employees who may not have demonstrated skills or experience,” she said. “They boost our neighborhoods and civic groups. They live in, and care about, the success of our communities. Our local chambers also provide essential networking opportunities and support. It is an honor to have my legislative record in support of them recognized.”

Illinois Chamber President and CEO Todd Maisch said this year’s award winners contributed “important work on creating sound tax policy, supporting tech innovation, and cutting red tape whenever possible strengthens our state’s job climate. We are proud to honor their constant commitment to the betterment of the Illinois economy with this award.”


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 02/29/2024 18:06