Good news


More than 400 people came out to the Walk the Walk for Mental Health at The Community House May 15, raising almost $50,000 in support of equitable mental health services in the community.

The top fundraising team was Life Insight.

The top individual fundraiser was Carol Schwerha.

The Madison Elementary Panthers won the Big Blue Shoe Trophy for the highest participation among District 181 schools.

Proceeds from the walk are used to support The Counseling Center at The Community House, which has provided counseling services to the community for more than 25 years. Services are provided on a sliding scale, providing equitable access to everyone, regardless of their ability to pay.


Several college students from Hinsdale have earned a spot on the dean’s list or the equivalent for the second semester of the 2021-22 school year at their respective colleges and universities.

• Nicholas Alfano, University of Iowa

• Mary Arbor, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Mack Ashbaugh, Belmont University

• Christina Aucoin, University of Iowa

• Sophia Biancalana, Belmont University

• Elijah Blacketor, Iowa State University

• Catcher Brown, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Sophia Cacciatore, Belmont University

• Gabi Conidi, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Emma Dillard, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Shea Draddy, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Jacob Duba, Iowa State University

• Dilan Garg, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Kathleen Gerth, St. Mary’s College

• Ryder Guido, Belmont University

• Samantha Guido, Iowa State University

• Lucy Hawblitzel, Iowa State University

• Sophie Lundmark, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Susannah Melkus, DePauw University

• Luke Moran, Belmont University

• Olivia Morrissey, St. Mary’s College

• Olivia Ostrowski, College of William & Mary

• Bennet Plucienik-Kapoun, University of Wisconsin-Madison*

• Charlotte Priester, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

• Alicia Rivera, Southern New Hampshire University (winter list)

• Grace Rogowski, Lehigh University

• Emma Schackart, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Kristiana Strtak, University of Vermont

• Trey Tabachka, University of Wisconsin-Madison*

• Emma Watcke, University of Wisconsin-Madison

• Alegra Waverley, University of Wisconsin-Madison

* dean’s honor list


Several college students from Hinsdale graduated from their respective colleges and universities following the spring 2022 semester.

• Chase Ackerson, College of the Holy Cross

• Olivia Campbell, bachelor’s in marketing, cum laude, Minnesota State University-Mankato

• Julia Chatterjee, bachlor’s in mechanical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

• Hollis Clark, U.S. Military Academy at West Point

• Joshua Hagen, DePauw University

• Tyler Jurack, bachelor’s in business administration, The University of Nebraska-Lincoln

• Daniel Karbowski, DePauw University

• Margaret Neil, bachelors in apparel, merchandising and design, cum laude, Iowa State University

• Sara Payne, doctorate in cell biology, Duke University

• Scott Spinazola, bachelor’s in journalism, The University of Nebraska-Lincoln


Principal Bill Walsh recognized four individuals from Hinsdale Central who retired this year at the June 2 Hinsdale High School District 86 Board meeting.

They are

• Dave Stringer, student supervisor, 17 years

• Dr. Jo Ann Lopykinski, math teacher, 17 years

• John Williams, science teacher, 17 years

• Laura Milas, art teacher, 32 year