Good news


Last updated 4/6/2022 at 1:46pm | View PDF


Candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

Five seniors from Hinsdale Central High School have been named candidates for the 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

They are Jui Khankari, Maximilian Lai, Andrew Metzger, Nadir Muzaffar and Grant Zhang.

Each year, up to 161 students are named Presidential Scholars, which is considered one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.


Vincent Galassi from Hinsdale Central has been named to the Illinois High School Association’s 2021-22 Honorable Mention Team for academics. He and classmate Tessa Howe were the school’s nominees for the 2021-22 IHSA All-State Academic Team.

In order to be nominated, students must possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on a 4.0 scale after their seventh semester, have participated in at least two IHSA-sponsored sports or activities during each of the last two years and demonstrated outstanding citizenship.


• Hinsdale’s Jacob Duba, a freshman at Iowa State University, has been ranked among the top 2 percent of students in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

• Olivia Giammanco and William Kallas, both of Hinsdale, have been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2021 semester at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities.

• Hinsdale’s Kate Melvin will be recognized at the University of Alabama’s Honors Day Ceremony April 8 for her superior academic achievements and outstanding service in the area of Management Information Systems. She is in the honors and the accelerated master’s programs and is president of Women in Technology.


The Rotary Club of Hinsdale presented Youth Merit Awards to one high school senior and six eighth-graders March 11. This award recognizes extraordinary high school and middle school students for services to their community and classmates, leadership qualities and academic achievements.

Awards were presented to

Hinsdale Central High School — Annette Ciupek

Hinsdale Middle School — Ali Pieper and Greg Warren

Clarendon Hills Middle School — Amelia Carter and Charles Hoyt

Notre Dame School — Autumn Lambke and Elizabeth Surowiec

The club presents Youth Merit Awards several times during the school year.

A photo appears online at


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 02/24/2024 19:20