Good news


Several students from Hinsdale were named to the dean’s list or equivalent for the fall 2020 semester at their respective colleges and universities.

• William Bush, The Citadel

• Jonathon Cain, Colgate University

• Daniel McKay, Colgate University

• Caroline Riefe, Indiana University

• Selin Turkyilmaz, Colgate University


The Rotary Club of Hinsdale presented another round of Youth Merit Awards March 12.

This award recognizes extraordinary middle school and high school students for service to their community and classmates, leadership qualities and academic achievements.

The Rotary Club honors students from area public and private schools several time each school year.

Recipients are

• Diya Patel, eighth grade, Hinsdale Middle School

• Jake Turnbull, eighth grade, HMS

• Ella Parker-Briones, eighth grade, Clarendon Hills Middle School

• Cooper Revord, eighth grade, CHMS

• Quinton Cain, senior, Hinsdale Central High School


After a close final round and five tie-breaker questions, Rikhil Doshi, Alexander Zhang, Amjad Hasan, and Tyler He were named the champions of the Battle of the Books at Hinsdale Middle School.

Yazmin Crisostomo, Alli Pieper, William DeBruin and Lucas Chan were the only team to have a perfect score leading up to the finals and came in second place. These teams outperformed 19 other teams in this season’s competition to make it to the finals.

Teens NOMINATED as top scholars

Five Hinsdale Central High School seniors from District 86 have been named candidates for the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

They are Qing Dang, Amer Goel, Bilal Khan, Sidh Leekha and Aileen Yang.

The program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. It was expanded in 1979 to “recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts.” It was expanded again in 2015 to acknowledge ability and accomplishments in career and technical education fields.

Each year, up to 161 high school students are named Presidential Scholars, which is considered one of the nation’s highest honors.