Good news


Four staff members in Community Consolidated District 181 were honored among some 100 educators statewide recognized by the Illinois State Board of Education in its 2021 Teacher of the Year and Those Who Excel categories.

Classroom teacher Carrie Fitzgerald earned a meritorious service award. She is an early childhood education teacher for the special education class in the D181 Neighborhood Preschool.

Lisa Hendrix received an award of excellence for administrators. She is a pupil service administrator at Elm and Prospect schools.

Maureen Laschober earned a meritorious service award for student support personnel. She is a speech-language pathologist at The Lane School.

Daisy Fulgencio earned a meritorious service award for educational service personnel. She is the head daytime custodian at Walker School.

Those Who Excel honors individuals who have made significant contributions to Illinois’ public and nonpublic elementary and secondary schools. Awards are presented in five categories (school administrator, student support personnel, educational service personnel, community volunteer and teams) and on three levels (excellence, meritorious service and recognition).

Nomination materials are evaluated by a selection committee comprised of individuals who represent a variety of educational organizations.


The Elmhurst Memorial Hospital Foundation raised more than $358,000 at its first-ever Virtual Autumn Affair Gala on Sept. 12. Nearly 300 individuals registered for the event, which is the foundation’s largest fundraiser of the year and supports Elmhurst Hospital programs and services that directly impact patients.

This year’s Autumn Affair featured an exciting auction, fun with an interactive Photo Booth and an engaging live after-party with The DJ Firm.

Participants also had an opportunity to make a $100 contribution to the EMH Foundation “Share the Gift of Hope” campaign to fund a permanent daffodil Garden of Hope that will serve as a visual reminder of hope, resiliency and a celebration of life on the Elmhurst Hospital Main Campus.

STUDENTS earn degree, honors

Sean Neveril earned his bachelor’s degree in professional writing from Miami University during the 2020 summer semester.

These Hinsdale students have been named to the dean’s list for the spring 2020 semester.

• Rachel Distler, Biola University

• Connor Dunne, Seton Hall University