Good news


Last updated 3/11/2020 at 4:24pm | View PDF


The Hinsdale Assembly is proud to announce its 2020 Debutantes and Honor Guard.

These young women and men will engage in a number of social and community service projects throughout the year and will participate in the Hinsdale Assembly Ball Dec. 23 at the Hilton Chicago/Oak Brook Hills Resort.

For 2020, the Hinsdale Assembly has committed to donate to Hinsdale Hospital’s Behavioral Health service line. Mental health is an extremely important need for children and families. The assembly is determined to make a positive impact in the community with improving mental health awareness, treatment, and access to the help for those in need. By coming together with AMITA on this increasingly alarming reality, the assembly hopes to elevate the entire service line and truly improve the well-being of the community.

2020 Debutantes

Olivia Margaret Beargie, daughter of Elizabeth and Brian Beargie

Margaret Anne Benington, daughter of Erin and Stuart Benington

Tanner Elizabeth Carter, daughter of Tamara and Terry Carter

Kayleigh Elizabeth Excell, daughter of Carolyn and Richard Excel

Grace Jacqueline Fowler, daughter of Jacqueline and Timothy Fowler

Anna Louisa Gruvberger, daughter of Kristina Taheri-Gruvberger and Stefan Gruvberger

Genevieve Bryce Haarlow, daughter of Lauren and Blair Haarlow

Mary Alice Heneghan, daughter of Suzanne and Brendan Heneghan

Emma Katherine Houchens, daughter of Jennifer and Matthew Houchens

Mary Elise Hughes, daughter of Molly and Gerald Hughes

Taylor Kathryn Hultquist, daughter of Deborah and James Hultquist

Audrey Therese La Valle, daughter of Anne and Albert La Valle

Lucille Elizabeth Lavins, daughter of Jennifer and Thomas Lavins

Emily Elyse Lewis, daughter of Kristen and William Lewis

Paige Marie McMahon, daughter of Kelly and John McMahon

Alyssa Taylor Moncrief, daughter of Cynthia and Brian Moncrief

Chloe Margot Opler, daughter of Sarah and Edmond Opler

Olivia June Jian Rayis, daughter of Mary and John Rayis

Abigail Mae Rigazio, daughter of Anne and John Rigazio

Madeleine Faye Van Houtte, daughter of Emily and Andrew Van Houtte

Katherine Avery Venis, daughter of Jennifer and Scott Coman

Elleanor Sabin Witz, daughter of Beth Kos and David and Jeanne Witz

2020 Honor Guard

Luke O’Neill Allison, son of Colleen and Christopher Allison

Michael Robert Benington, son of Erin and Stuart Benington

Christopher Bains Brady, son of Lucy and Thomas Brady

Nicholas Joseph Daly, son of Catherine and James Daly

Alexander Sebastian Daw, son of Victoria and Joseph Daw, Jr.

Nicholas Christian Henneman, son of Mary and Mark Henneman

Carl Emery Hinchman, son of Lisa and Timothy Hinchman

John Robert Hultquist, son of Deborah and James Hultquist

Luke Tyler Leddy, son of Judy and Tracy Leddy

Mitchell Ryan Lee, son of Valerie and Michael Lee

Britton Stewart Leigh, Jr., son of Kimberly and Britton Leigh

Nicholas Joseph Lynch, son of Jacqueline and Joseph Lynch

Nathan Andrew Melkus, son of Tonya and Paul Melkus

Thomas Daniel Mercurio, son of Kimberly and James Mercurio

Alexander Jacob Mittelstadt, son of Donna and Michael Mittelstadt

Michael Harrison Moran, son of Julie and Michael Moran

Nathan Alexander Niesen, son of Wendy and Robert Niesen

Michael Johnson Shean, Jr., son of Kimberly and Michael Shean

Justin Jian Terry, son of Annie and Jeffrey Terry


The Hinsdale Area Alumnae Panhellenic Association is pleased to announce the following local area women accepted invitations for membership at their respective universities during the 2019-29 school year to National Panhellenic Conference member sororities.

Alpha Chi Omega — Jackie Dorsett. Mia Dougherty, Chloe Heiser, Ambika Sharma, Zoe Smith. Elena Stojka

Alpha Delta Pi — Grace D’Onofrio, Anna Glowniak, Hadley McCarthy, Leia Pappas, Lily Podracky

Alpha Gamma Delta — Taylor Marquez

Alpha Omicron Pi — Ryan Jones, Mia Randall

Alpha Phi — Madison Boshardt, Gillian Filer, Jamison Fowler, Reilly Hayes, Libby Oakley, Emeri Sana, Liv Sommer

Alpha Xi Delta — Emma Dillard, Katie Trott

Chi Omega — Tally Carter, Kayleigh Hester, Maddie Lynch, Madeline Mikes, Grace Varan

Delta Delta Delta — Hannah Godellas, Francesca Grande, Anne Huetteman, Emily McLeod, Nicole Schaff, Aparna Srinivasan

Delta Gamma — Audrey Bareck, Melanie Chafin, Tess Ellithorpe, Ella Farrell, Lexie Henry, Olivia Kreischer, Claire Owens, Annie Schulz, Erin Sheehan, Kylie Torsberg

Delta Zeta — Grace DeAngelis, Katie Usher, Alexis Sygnator

Gamma Phi Beta — Caitlin Collins, Sarah Hamp-Adams, Mae Javois, Grace Kennedy, Claire Kern, Zoe Lagessie, Rachel Pearson, Maggie Regan

Kappa Alpha Theta — Grace Kisluk, Ashley Haggard, Sadie Kapelinski, Sam Moriarty, Emma O’Hea, Mia Pieranunzi, Jennifer Toyama, Ainsley Wallace

Kappa Delta — Hannah Eichelman, Olivia Randell, Samantha Shalgos

Kappa Kappa Gamma — Emma Bjeldanes, Grace Coghill, Sophie Eck, Kate Gabriel, Sophie Levine, Abby Malcom, Maria Naccarato, Lindsay Peters, Brooke Shryock

Phi Mu — Greta Garber, Hannah Kiperman

Pi Beta Phi — Christina Aucoin, Katie Courtney, Klavdia Georges, McKenna Hayes, Bahda Hoang, Sophie Hutchison, Lindsay Knutson, Kate Magnesen, Lindsey May, Morgan Millman, Grace Orput, Grace Owens, Shaini Sahgal, Jessie Tribbey, Caroline Woodward, Sarah Zidell

Top Driver

Sigma Kappa — Emma Socolich

Zeta Tau Alpha — Gabby Costello, Kristina Gurgone, Bea Ioannov, Lauren Keating, Ella Smith


Hinsdale Middle School seventh-grader Catherine Yan auditioned for and was selected to perform in the All-Illinois Junior Band.

She played her French horn with the band Jan. 24-25 under the direction of esteemed conductor Robert Tyrome Herrings III.

• Elm School student Arya Yedavalli earned a perfect score of 20 on the WordMasters challenge, a nationwide vocabulary contest that draws 150,000 competitors in grades three through eight participate. The challenge requires students to think analytically and metaphorically by completing analogies with three vocabulary sets throughout the year.


Anne Zick of Hinsdale has been selected as a contestant with her quilt, Dream City USA, at the American Quilter’s Society QuiltWeek from March 25-28 in Lancaster, Penn.

A photo appears online at


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/16/2021 15:56