Good news

Rotary Receives Volunteer Award

The Hinsdale Rotary Club on May 25 received the Katharine Van Duysen Volunteer service award from The Community House.

Each year, The Community House presents this prestigious award to an individual or group that has gone above and beyond in their volunteer service to the organization. Members of The Community House Board and the Rotary Club gathered at The Community House to celebrate the decade-long partnership between the two nonprofit organizations.

Over the last 10 years, The Rotary Club of Hinsdale has provided The Community House with volunteers for fundraising events, career speakers for the Willowbrook Corner Youth Learning Program and more than $250,000 in funding through the Rotary Run Charity Classic. Dave Rogero, board chairman of The Community House, presented the award, which was accepted by Rotary President Tom Norton.

“The Rotary Club has truly lived up to their motto of ‘Service Above Self’ in their support of our mission through volunteer work and financial contributions,” said Dan Janowick, executive director of The Community House. “It is a special partnership that we cherish and look forward to continuing for many years to come.”


The Hinsdale Humane Society raised $11,580 during its 2021 Pet Walk Festival to support animals and the vital programs and services it provides.

Despite torrential rains on June 26, the society was able to exceed its fundraising goals for the event, reported Tom Van Winkle, chief executive officer/executive director.

“Thank you to everyone who came out to support the animals and the programs, services and resources we bring to the community,” he said.

“We loved having you all back in the building, visiting with us and the animals.”


These Hinsdale students earned a place on the dean’s list for the second semester of the 2020-21 school year at their respective colleges and universities.

• Christopher Barnard, University of Kansas

• Caroline Bourjaily, John Carroll University

• Kayla Cameron, Iowa State University

• Alek Fedyk, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

• Madison Heimsoth, University of Kansas

• Ian Moran, University of Kansas

• Emily Seyfarth, University of Kansas