Good news


Tammy Prentiss, superintendent of Hinsdale High School District 86, has earned an Award of Merit in the Administrator category as part of the 2021 Distinguished Service Awards Program sponsored by the Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association.

These awards recognize those who make a difference in their school communities by helping to promote public education and enhance its programs and services.

Nominees are evaluated on their ability to support or improve understanding and communication in the school/district; foster cooperative partnerships between the school and community; and strengthen the overall support for education by stakeholders.


The Hinsdale Rotary Club presented four students with a Youth Merit Award at its April 9 meeting.

This award recognizes middle school and high school students for service to their community and classmates, leadership qualities and academic achievements.

The Rotary Club honors students from area public and private schools several times each school year.

Recipients are

• Gianna Josephine Dugan, Hinsdale Center Senior

• Danny Frederick, Hinsdale Adventist Academy senior

• Ana Korac, Hinsdale Adventist Academy senior

• Elena Bello, Hinsdale Adventist Academy eighth-grader


Hinsdale Central recently recognized 13 individuals who were named Student of the Quarter by the school’s various departments based on their accomplishments in the classroom, as well as their leadership, kindness and skills as role models.

They are Angie Burchinal-Imai, Elyssa Chandler, David Lacayo, Ravi Mahajan, Rohan Mahajan, Ava Newcomer, Manuela Nofodji, Thomas Renehan, Mikayel Sardaryan, Ciaran Strimaitis, John Tischke, Dariya Tugsmandakh and Jai Vardhan.

Central TEACHERS MAKe A difference

The 2020-21 Make A Difference Award winners for the third quarter at Hinsdale Central High School have been announced. These teachers have gone above and beyond the call of duty for students and were selected from many outstanding nominations.

Winners are:

• Sally Belter, world language

• Christine Broderick, special education

• Gina Chandler, English

• Melissa Jensen, science

• John Madden, business & technology

• Katie Walker, math